Skip to content


In addition to in-person courses offered by the county, four online courses are required for your Type IV Communicator Credential. Each course takes a couple hours to complete. Be sure to save your certificates of completion for these online courses.

FEMA ICS and NIMS Courses

The FEMA Emergency Management Institute (EMI) offers all of the courses online. You can study online and take the test online. For some courses you may also download the materials to your computer and study them alongside.

State of California OES SEMS Course

The California Governor's Office of Emergency Services (OES) provides the Standardized Emergency Management System (SEMS) Introduction Online Course, SEMS G606.

There is no direct URL to this course. Please follow these steps instead.

  1. Go to the CSTI Training Portal
  2. Click on "Browse Training" (binoculars icon)
  3. In the left column, under Type, click on the the square blue icon to select online courses
  4. Look for Standardized Emergency Management System Introduction (SEMS G606) Online Course

Other Courses

Learn about other Emergency Management Training Courses at the county website

Save Your Certificates

Be sure to download and save your certificates of completion.